Ulster Squad For Aironi Match Named

1 minute, 33 seconds Read

Ulster Coach Brian McLaughlin today named his squad ahead of Ulster’s visit to Aironi in Round 2 of the Magners League this weekend.

When asked what Ulster were expecting, Coach Brian McLaughlin commented;

“This is Aironi’s first home game in the Magners League. They will be very agressive and physical, they played exceptionally well against Munster last weekend.”

“They have a good pack that is very well directed by Mercier. They have signed very well, key for them is Bortolami in the lineout.”

The Ulster Squad named for the match does not include Rory Best or Stephen Ferris. Rory picked up some soft tissue irritation to his neck in Ulster’s match last Friday against the Ospreys but is rested along with Stephen as part of the IRFU’s player management programme. South African BJ Botha returned to Belfast following the Tri Nations campaign earlier this week, he will commence training again with the squad tomorrow and consequently was not considered for selection.

Jamie Smith is included having recovered from an eye injury sustained in the friendly against Bath while backrow Chris Henry, who toured with Ireland this summer is also included for the first time.

Following Friday’s opener against the Ospreys, McLaughlin is keen for his side to follow that performance up;

“We had a great performance on Friday against the Ospreys, lots of pride and passion but we have to build on that and go to Italy to get something”

The Ulster starting XV and replacements will be named on Friday.


Tom Court, Paddy McAllister, Bryan Young, Declan Fitzpatrick, Adam Macklin, Neil McComb, Nigel Brady, Andi Kyriacou, Johann Muller, Tim Barker, Chris Henry, Ryan Caldwell, Willie Faloon, TJ Anderson, Robbie Diack, Pedrie Wannenburg

Adam D’Arcy, David McIlwaine, Nevin Spence, Tommy Seymour, Jonny Shiels, Darren Cave, Ian Whitten, Paddy Wallace, Ian Humphreys, Niall O’Connor, Ian Porter, Paul Marshall, Jamie Smith

Similar Posts