Ulster Rugby: “The Province With No Identity”: Mens I XV Squad Named Here: & We Know WHO WE ARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 minute, 48 seconds Read

Ulster remain hopeful that Chris Henry and Paul Marshall will be fit to play Edinburgh in Saturday’s Heineken Cup semi final (kick off 5.45pm).

Both players are included in Brian McLaughlin’s 35 man preliminary squad for the Aviva Stadium clash. Henry sprained his ankle in the PRO12 game against Leinster on Friday night, but will be given until late in the week to prove his fitness. Marshall, who injured his elbow versus Connacht the previous week, will also be re-assessed throughout the week before a decision is made.

The Ulster management team will have a near full strength squad to choose from as Pedrie Wannenburg (groin) and Paddy Wallace (illness) are likely to be available despite also being forced off during the Leinster game.

Edinburgh’s form in Europe, in which they have beaten the likes of Racing Metro and Toulouse, is in stark contrast to their PRO12 form, where they have picked up just 5 wins from 21 outings. Ulster met Edinburgh in the PRO12 twice this season, with the Irishmen winning 42-20 away and 38-16 at home.

Edinburgh are appearing in the semi-finals for the first time in the club’s history and are indeed the first Scottish club to qualify for the last four. Ulster’s last appearance at this stage of the competition was on route to winning the trophy in 1999, when they beat Stade Francais 33-27 at Ravenhill.

The sides will be competing for a place in the final at Twickenham on 19th May, where the winner will face either reigning champions Leinster or French giants Clermont Auvergne.

Provisional Ulster Squad to play Edinburgh, Sat 28th April, Aviva Stadium, Dublin (kick off 5.45pm):

Callum Black, Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick, Adam Macklin, Paddy McAllister, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Rory Best, Lewis Stevenson, Johann Muller (captain), Dan Tuohy, Iain Henderson, Neil McComb, Stephen Ferris, Willie Faloon, Pedrie Wannenburg, Mike McComish, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack

Blane McIlroy, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Porter, Paul Marshall, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, Paddy Wallace, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Luke Marshall, Nevin Spence, Stefan Terblanche, Craig Gilroy, Conor Gaston, Andrew Trimble, Adam D’Arcy

Unavailable due to injury:
Jared Payne (Achilles), Tim Barker (back), Simon Danielli (hamstring)

Similar Posts