Scotland Name Rugby World Cup Squad

0 minutes, 57 seconds Read

Scotland RWC 2015 squad

Forwards: Alasdair Dickinson, Ryan Grant, Gordon Reid, Willem Nel, Jon Welsh, Fraser Brown, Ross Ford, Stuart McInally, Grant Gilchrist, Jonny Gray, Richie Gray, Tim Swinson, David Denton, John Hardie, Josh Strauss, Alasdair Strokosch, Ryan Wilson.

Backs: Sam Hidalgo-Clyne, Greig Laidlaw (captain), Henry Pyrgos, Finn Russell, Duncan Weir, Mark Bennett, Peter Horne, Matt Scott, Richie Vernon, Sean Lamont, Sean Maitland, Tommy Seymour, Tim Visser, Stuart Hogg.

The Glasgow captain and back-rower qualifies for Scotland on residential grounds on 19 September, a day after the tournament begins and four days before his adopted nation’s first match, against Japan at Kingsholm on 23 September.

Strauss is joined by another South African-born player in Edinburgh prop WP Nel, who has won two caps since qualifying for Scotland in June.

Meanwhile, Richie Vernon’s transformation from back-row to centre takes on another level after he was named in the squad.

Vernon made the positional switch 18 months ago and becomes the first player to be selected for Scotland in a Rugby World Cup as both a forward and a back, adding to his 2011 appearance as a number eight……. full story on >>

Similar Posts