Newry Rugby Club Annual Dinner Dance 2011 + Awards

1 minute, 1 second Read

Newry Rugby Club brought the curtain down in style on their most successful seasonever with a gala Dinner Dance and awards ceremony in Bellinis last Saturday. Members and guests turned up to celebrate the promotion of the First XV and also the accomplishments of all the other teams in the club from mini and youth rugby upto the Second and Third XVs in the senior club. Addressing the large crowd in attendance, Chairman Donal Farrell spoke about theachievements of the last 12 months and in particular the huge progress made bythe First XV under Director of Coaching, Rhys Botha. That team lost only one gamesince the start of October 2010 and finished second overall to move them up into theUlster Qualifying League 3 next season.

Awards were presented as follows:

U-17 most improved player of the year: Gerard Murtagh
U-17 player of the year: Sean McMahon
Youth section clubman of the year: Pete McParland
Senior club, clubman of the year: Michael Fegan

Third XV most improved player of the year: John Mathews
Third XV player of the year: John Collins

2 XV player of the year: Andy O’Donnell and Paul Haughey

First XV most improved player of the year: Donal Farrell
First XV player of the year: James Warren

Similar Posts