Ireland Rugby U20 v Wales Rugby U20, Ireland Ladies Rugby I XV v Wales Ladies Rugby I XV & Ireland Club Rugby I XV v Scotland Club Rugby I XV: Teams Announced

5 minutes, 53 seconds Read

Brought to you in association with the Guinness Rugby Facebook Team and to check out all the latest from inside the Irish and provincial camps with regular comments and video posts from the players visit or check out to keep up to date on all the latest rugby news, fixtures and results, competitions and to find the best local pub to watch the rugby!

This years Ulster players involved in training and squads include
Rory Best, Paddy Wallace, Tom Court, Stephen Ferris
Ian Humphreys, Paul Marshall, Nevin Spence
Nigel Brady, Willie Faloon,
Declan Fitzpatrick, Chris Henry
Luke Marshall, Caraig Gilroy, Patrick Jackson, Nial Annett, Blane McIlroy, Iain Henderson, Lauren Day, Stacey Kennedy & Stuart Morrow.

Ireland Under-20 v Wales Under-20

The Ireland Under-20 side (sponsored by PwC) will travel to Llanelli this weekend to take on their Welsh counterparts in the penultimate tournament clash in the 2011 Under-20 RBS Six Nations.

Coach Mike Ruddock sees the return of Luke Marshall and Craig Gilroy from Magners League duty for Ulster.

Marshall will partner Alex Kelly in the centre and Gilroy comes in on the right wing.

JJ Hanrahan and Tiernan O’Halloran have been named in the replacements.

Speaking about the Scotland game, Ruddock said “We saw a big improvement, particularly in terms of our line speed in defense and in the collision which we dominated a lot more than we did against France.”

On the Wales Game “That gives us some confidence going to Wales. It will be extremely tough against the Welsh side as they seem to be playing with great confidence. We need to ensure our defense is spot on and take our chances when they come along.”

Ireland Under-20 v Wales Under-20 (Friday 11th March, Kick-off 19:10. Parc y Scarlets, Llanelli)

15 – Mike Sherlock (Clontarf – Leinster)
14 – Craig Gilroy (Dungannon – Ulster)
13 – Alex Kelly (UCD – Leinster)
12 – Luke Marshall (Ballymena – Ulster)
11 – Andrew Boyle (UCD – Leinster)
10 – Patrick Jackson (Dungannon – Ulster)
9 – Blane McIlroy (Ballymena – Ulster)
1 – James Tracy (UCD – Leinster)
2 – Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
3 – Martin Moore (Lansdowne – Leinster)
4 – Michael Kearney (Clontarf – Leinster)
5 – Daniel Qualter (Buccaneers – Connacht)
6 – Shane Buckley (Garryowen – Munster)
7 – Aaron Conneely (Corinthians – Connacht)
8 – Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne – Leinster)

16 – David Doyle (UCD – Leinster)
17 – Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf – Leinster)
18 – Iain Henderson (Queens – Ulster)
19 – Cathal O’Flaherty (Cork Con – Munster)
20 – Mark Dolan (Corinthians – Connacht)
21 – JJ Hanrahan (UL Bohemians – Munster)
22 – Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians – Connacht)

Ireland Women v Wales Women

The Ireland Women’s team to play Wales in the RBS 6 Nations Championship has been named by Coach Philip Doyle.

Doyle has made three changes to his opening side that overcame their Scottish counterparts 5 – 22 in their last outing of the RBS 6 Nations Championship a fortnight ago.

Lauren Day and Carol Staunton make their return to the starting XV in the front and back row respectively. Laura Guest will partner Marie Louise Reilly in the second row.

Ailis Egan comes into the squad on the replacements as Doyle seeks to increase the number of player’s gaining experience at this level. Heather O’Brien also takes a place on the bench.

Speaking ahead of this weekend’s game, Doyle said “The squad are looking forward to this weekend’s test. Wales away is always a strong challenge and we are under no illusions about the strength of this Welsh side.”

“We have had good results so far in the tournament and are striving for another positive result this weekend.”

Ireland Women v Wales Women (RBS 6 Nations Championship, Cross Keys RFC, Gwent – Sunday 13th March, Kick-off 14:30hrs)
15 – Niamh Briggs (Clonmel – Munster)
14 – Niamh Kavanagh (UL Bohemian – Munster)
13 – Lynne Cantwell (Richmond – Exile)
12 – Geraldine Rea (Highfield – Munster)
11 – Mairead Kelly (UL Bohemian – Munster)
10 – Nora Stapleton (Old Belvedere – Leinster)
9 – Amy Davis (Blackrock – Leinster)
1 -Fiona Coghlan (UL Bohemian – Leinster)
2 – Gillian Bourke (Bristol – Munster)
3 – Lauren Day (Waterloo – Ulster)
4 – Laura Guest (Highfield – Munster)
5 – Marie Louise Reilly (Old Belvedere – Leinster)
6 – Carol Staunton (Galwegians – Connacht)
7 – Claire Molloy (Bristol – Connacht)
8 – Joy Neville (UL Bohemian – Munster)

Replacements –
16 – Stacey Kennedy (City of Derry – Ulster)
17 – Ailis Egan (Old Belvedere – Leinster)
18 – Dee O’Brien (Blackrock – Leinster)
19 – Heather O’Brien (Highfield – Munster)
20 – Larissa Muldoon (UWIC – Exile)
21 – Gillian Nolan (St Marys – Leinster)
22 – Jackie Shiels (Richmond – Leinster)

Ireland Club XV v Scotland Club

The Ulster Bank Club International team to play Scotland Clubs in Netherdale on Friday March 11th has been named. The team, which is coached by Dolphin’s David O’Mahony, contains five new caps in the starting XV and will be captained by Cork Constitution’s Frank Cogan.

Barry Keeshan, consistently one of the highest points scorers in the Ulster Bank League will start at outhalf and is partnered by Matt D’Arcy of St. Mary’s College who wins his first cap at this level.

Evan Ryan of Clontarf and Dolphin’s Eric Moloney will form an experienced centre partnership while Old Belvedere’s try machine David Mongan earns his first cap with Galwegians’ John Cleary on the wings. John O’Brien of Buccaneers is another new cap at fullback.

Up front Richie Sweeney is rewarded for his form for St. Mary’s College in the Ulster Bank League and is named at hooker with John Ryan of UCC and Christy Condon of Dolphin who have both been capped at this level completing the front row.

Philip Donnellan of UCC and Clontarf’s Simon Crawford are named in the second row. The backrow is a highly experienced unit with former Club International captain Hugh Hogan packing down alongside Barry O’Mahony and Cork Con skipper Frank Cogan, who has been in impressive form this season, leading the side.

This is the fifth season of this encounter and as it stands both teams have two wins at home.

The Ireland Club team will face England Counties on Friday week with a 5.30 pm kick off in Anglesea Road

IRELAND Club Team & Replacements (v Scotland Club, Club International, Netherdale, Friday, March 11th 19:30):

15. John O’Brien (Buccaneers)*
14. John Cleary (Galwegians)
13. Eric Moloney (Dolphin)
12. Evan Ryan (Clontarf)
11. David Mongan (Old Belvedere)*
10. Barry Keeshan (Dolphin)
9. Matthew D’Arcy (St. Mary’s College)*
1. John Ryan (UCC)
2. Richie Sweeney (St. Mary’s College)*
3. Christy Condon (Dolphin)
4. Philip Donnellan (UCC)*
5. Simon Crawford (Clontarf)
6. Hugh Hogan (St. Mary’s College)
7. Barry O’Mahony (Clontarf)
8. Frank Cogan (Cork Constitution)

16. Ciaran Kavanagh (Clontarf)*
17. Ger Slattery (Young Munster)
18. Liam Og Murphy (Young Munster)*
19. Damian Hall (St. Mary’s College)*
20. Gerard Hurley (Cork Constitution)
21. Alan Kingsley (Young Munster)
22. Stuart Morrow (Ballynahinch)*

Ireland Club Team Management
David O’Mahony – Coach
Pat McHale – Manager
Andy Wood – Assistant Coach
Eugene McEntegart – Strength & Conditioning Coach
William Duggan – Doctor
Ailbe McCormack – Doctor
Pat Downey/Jim Barden – Bagman

Similar Posts