Instonians team to play at Middleton NAMED

1 minute, 47 seconds Read

Instonians team to play at Middleton on sat 25th Jan

After a disappointing result last time out at home to Armagh losing 10-31, Instonians once more try to get their season going with the long trip to Middleton. The home team have 3 wins from 8 compared to Instonians 2 wins from 8 and therefore lie two places above and 3 points ahead in the league. Instonians are currently in the 2nd relegation spot and need a step up in performance to gain points at Middleton.

There are many injury doubts in the squad but it is hoped most will clear by Saturday.

At hooker Ross Keane continues in the place of the injured captain Paddy Bell who has yet to recover. Either side of him it is hoped prop Josh Cregan and Harry Martin will give a solid set piece. On the bench Alan Whitten will hope to support. Peter Stewart and Lewis Jones are back together in the 2nd row to provide power in the scrum and aggression around the park. The backrow welcomes the return of Ravens openside Josh Atkinson and with the duo of Andy McKeen and Paddy Marks we should be fielding our first choice unit.
In the backline Ireland U19s scrumhalf Conor Young starts with Matthew Keane providing cover form the bench. It is hoped that trusty outhalf Richard McCarthy who has tweaked his hamstring will be fit to play. In the centre old hands Robbie Kirk and Richard Fegan are re-united to hopefully add a bit of aggression that was missing during recent games. Winger Matt Kilpatrick is looking back to his best and with Nico Andress at fullback and utility New Zealand Ryan Aperehama on the other flank we have a dangerous back three.

To complete the bench we have ex Ballynahinch utility back Stuart McAllister, young backrow Daniel Lyness and Donegal hooker Conor Gallagher all of which will be making an impact.

1 Harry Martin
2 Ross Keane
3 Josh Cregan
4 Lewis Jones
5 Peter Stewart
6 Paddy Marks
7 Josh Atkinson
8 Andy McKeen

9 Conor Young
10 Richard McCarthy
11 Matt Kilpatrick
12 Robbie Kirk
13 Richard Fegan
14 Ryan Aperehama
15 Nico Andress

16 Alan Whitten
17 Conor Gallagher
18 Daniel Lyness
19 Matthew Keane
20 Stuart McAllister

Similar Posts