IRELAND XXIII NAMED for 2nd Game of U20 World Championships!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2 minutes, 43 seconds Read

Ireland Under-20 team to play Scotland-Under 20

The Ireland Under-20 (Sponsored by PwC) to play Scotland Under-20 in their second round of the World Rugby Under-20 Championship has been named.

Coach, Nigel Carolan has made four changes to the opening side that overcame Argentina 18-16 in their last outing.

Ciaran Gaffney is named on the wing, having recovered from an ankle injury he picked up before the first game, to partner Stephen Fitzgerald with Billy Dardis at full back. There is no change in the centre partnership, with Garry Ringrose and Sam Arnold taking position. Captain, Nick McCarthy starts at scrumhalf with Joey Carbery named at outhalf.

Up front, Andrew Porter and Sean McNulty make their first start of the tournament to join Oisin Heffernan in the front row. David O’Connor and Alex Thompson take their position in the second row. Josh Murphy and Lorcan Dow are joined by Conor Oliver in the back row.

Carolan said “We had a shaky start to the tournament but it’s good to have the win under our belt.”

“We narrowly lost to Scotland during the Six Nations this year so we are aware of the challenge ahead of us. We know we have a tough battle on our hands, but that’s what we have prepared for.”

“We are all looking forward to the game and hopefully we can perform to our potential.”

This game will be broadcast on TG4.

Ireland Under-20 (v Scotland Under-20s, 2015 World Rugby Under-20 Championship – Pool C, Calvisano, Saturday, June 6, kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time)

15. Billy Dardis (UCD/Leinster)
14. Ciaran Gaffney (Galwegians/Connacht)
13. Garry Ringrose (UCD/Leinster)
12. Sam Arnold (Ballynahinch/Ulster)
11. Stephen Fitzgerald (Shannon/Munster)
10. Joey Carbery (UCD/Leinster)
9. Nick McCarthy (UCD/Leinster) (Capt)
1. Andrew Porter (UCD/Leinster)
2. Sean McNulty (UCD/Leinster)
3. Oisin Heffernan (Terenure College/Leinster)
4. David O’Connor (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
5. Alex Thompson (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
6. Josh Murphy (UCD/Leinster)
7. Conor Oliver (St Mary’s/ Leinster)
8. Lorcan Dow (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)

16. Zack McCall (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)
17. Liam O’Connor (Cork Constitution /Munster) *
18. Conan O’Donnell (Sligo/NUIG/Connacht)
19. Jack Dwan (UCD/Leinster)
20. Nick Timoney (St. Mary’s College/Leinster)
21. Charlie Rock (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
22. Tomás Quinlan (Cork Constitution/Munster)
23. Jacob Stockdale (Queen’s University Belfast/Ulster)

* Denotes uncapped player at international Under-20 level

Ireland Fixtures and Results
Ireland Under-20s 18 v 16 Argentina Under-20s, Parma, Tuesday, June 2, kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time
Ireland Under-20s v Scotland Under-20s, Calvisano, Saturday, June 6, kick-off 4.30pm local time/3.30pm Irish time
New Zealand Under-20s v Ireland Under-20s, Viadana, Wednesday, June 10, kick-off 8.30pm local time/7.30pm Irish time

Match Day 4: Play-offs and semi-finals, Monday, June 15
Match Day 5: Play-offs and final, Saturday, June 20

The Scotland Team:

15 Ruairi Howarth (Edinburgh Rugby/Gala)
14 Robbie Nairn (Harlequins)*
13 Tom Galbraith (Melrose)
12 Patrick Kelly (Le Parc)
11 Alec Coombes (London Scottish)
10 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby)*
9 George Horne (Glasgow Hawks)
1 Murray McCallum (Aberdeen Grammar Rugby)
2 Sam James (Bedford Blues)
3 Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
4 Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)
5 Lewis Carmichael (Melrose)*
6 Neil Irvine-Hess (Melrose)
7 Jamie Ritchie CAPTAIN (Edinburgh Rugby)
8 Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh Rugby)

16 Ross Graham (Hawick)
17 Dan Elkington (Watsonians)
18 Jack Owlett (Exeter University)
19 Andrew Davidson (Glasgow Warriors/Glasgow Hawks)
20 Ruaridh Knott (Melrose)
21 Ben Vellacott (Gloucester/Hartpury College)
22 Rory Hutchinson (Northampton Saints)
23 Richard Galloway (University of Birmingham)

Similar Posts