Women’s Sevens Dublin Pool and Fixtures Announced Ireland will play South Africa, Hong Kong and Mexico in Pool C.

1 minute, 42 seconds Read

Women’s Sevens Dublin Pool and Fixtures Announced (pic credit inpho >> https://twitter.com/Inphosports

The pool draw and fixtures for the Women’s Sevens Dublin tournament were announced today. Ireland will play South Africa, Hong Kong and Mexico in Pool C.

The tournament takes place in the UCD Bowl on Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd of August. 12 Teams from across the globe will descend on Dublin to take part in the tournament which will see the top two finishers qualify for the 2015-16 World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

Olympic qualified Brazil will battle it out alongside Wales, Japan and Samoa in Pool A while Columbia, who will also be in Rio in 2016 are joined by Chile, Netherlands and Kenya in Pool B.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Rugby Sevens said,
“It’s massively important to get on to the world series circuit, it’s our number one goal, that way we are playing against the best teams in the world. If we are going to have a shot at the world Olympic repechage we are going to have to play at the best level.”

“In our pool we face South Africa who are a team that have been on the world circuit for a couple of years now are one of the teams that have been relegated from last season. They will be desperate to perform at this event and get back on the series circuit. We are definitely up for the challenge and it’s great to have the tournament at home.”

“With 12 countries competing in this event from all over the world, this is a great opportunity to give the game more exposure in Ireland.”

UCD will host over 200 visiting players and management with games taking place at the UCD Bowl, which has a capacity of up to 3,000 supporters. Tickets for the tournament start at 5 euro, with children free, and are available from www.ticketmaster.ie.

Women’s Sevens Dublin Pools:
Pool A: Brazil, Wales, Japan, Samoa
Pool B: China, Netherlands, Kenya, Colombia
Pool C: South Africa, Ireland, Hong Kong, Mexico

Similar Posts