Ulster team named for RaboDirect PRO12 play-off

1 minute, 21 seconds Read

Ulster Head Coach, Mark Anscombe, has made four changes and one positional switch to the team that defeated Cardiff last weekend, for Friday night’s RaboDirect PRO12 play-off against Llanelli Scarlets at Ravenhill (kick off 19.45).

Ireland internationals Paddy Jackson, Tom Court, Declan Fitzpatrick and Dan Tuohy all return to the side, while Ruan Pienaar switches from outhalf to scrumhalf.

Paul Marshall, Callum Black and Iain Henderson, who all started last week, are named as substitutes for the game.

Tighthead prop, John Afoa, was unavailable for selection, having failed to recover from the hamstring injury that he sustained against Cardiff.

Ulster finished top of the RaboDirect PRO12 table and qualified for a play-off for the first time in two years.

Mark Anscombe’s side will play the Llanelli Scarlets for a final place. The Welsh region finished fourth in the league and will make their first appearance in the play-offs tomorrow night.

The game will mark the end of an era at Ravenhill as Ulster fans bid farewell to the ground’s historic grandstand.

It opened on 12th January 1924 and has witnessed almost 90 years of Ulster rugby. Demolition work will begin on the stand next week as part of the ongoing £14.7 million redevelopment of the ground.

Ulster XV and replacements to face Cardiff Blues, RaboDirect PRO12 play-off, Ravenhill, Friday 10th May 2013 (kick off 19.45);
(15-9): J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, S Olding, T Bowe, P Jackson, R Pienaar; (1-8) T Court, R Best, D Fitzpatrick, J Muller (C), D Tuohy, R Diack, C Henry, N Williams; Replacements (16-23): R Herring, C Black, R Lutton, I Henderson, M McComish, P Marshall, M Allen, P Nelson.

Similar Posts