Ulster team named for Cardiff clash

1 minute, 51 seconds Read

Ulster Head Coach, Mark Anscombe has made five changes and one positional switch to the team that defeated Connacht at the Sportsground, two weeks ago, for Friday night’s crucial RaboDirect PRO12 match against Cardiff Blues at Ravenhill (kick off 19.45).

John Afoa, Johann Muller and Iain Henderson all return to the side, while Callum Black is preferred to Tom Court in the front row.

Robbie Diack and Chris Henry both make their 100th appearance for the club and will start alongside each other in the back-row.

Paul Marshall starts at scrum-half, with Ruan Pienaar moving to out-half. Stuart Olding who has scored two tries in his past two games, retains his place at inside centre, with Darren Cave named at 13.

British and Irish Lions winger, Tommy Bowe, is selected on the left wing with Andrew Trimble, who has scored ten tries for the Province so far this season, starting on the right.

Sean Doyle is included in an Ulster squad for the first time since breaking his leg in October and will start on the bench.

Nigel Brady is also named among the substitutes in what is likely to be his last game for the club at Ravenhill. The 33 year old has represented Ulster for 12 years and has made 118 appearances. He was part of the squad that won the Celtic League in 2006, and won his 100th cap in the record breaking 41-7 win over Leicester in the Heineken Cup last season. His commitment to Ulster Rugby and his larger-than-life personality have made him a favourite of fans and players alike.

Ulster require three more match points to ensure that they finish at the top of the table. Mark Anscombe’s team have won their last three RaboDirect PRO12 matches and have lost just once at Ravenhill in the competition all season: 12-16 to Ospreys in February.

Ulster XV and replacements to face Cardiff Blues, RaboDirect PRO12, Ravenhill, Friday 3rd May 2013 (kick off 19.45);

(15-9) J Payne, A Trimble, D Cave, S Olding, T Bowe, R Pienaar, P Marshall; (1-8) C Black, R Best, J Afoa, J Muller, I Henderson, R Diack, C Henry, N Williams; Replacements (16-23): N Brady, T Court, D Fitzpatrick, D Tuohy, S Doyle, P Jackson, M Allen, P Nelson.

Similar Posts