Ulster Rugby Mens I XV: 4 changes for Dragons Test: Marshall, Gilroy, Stevenson & Fitzpatrick Will Start!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FULL TEAM NAMED HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

1 minute, 48 seconds Read

The Ulster management team have made four personnel changes for the RaboDirect PRO12 fixture against Dragons at Rodney Parade on Friday (kick off 7.05pm).

Paul Marshall, Craig Gilroy and Lewis Stevenson have been elevated to the starting XV, while Declan Fitzpatrick will go straight into the team on his return from a knee injury. Roger Wilson could make his first appearance for Ulster since returning to the club after being selected on the bench.

Marshall’s inclusion at scrumhalf will see Ruan Pienaar move to flyhalf in place of Paddy Jackson who is among the replacements. Tommy Bowe will line out at fullback, with Jared Payne earning a well earned rest after playing in every minute of Ulster’s campaign to date. Gilroy is named on the left wing, with Andrew Trimble switching to the right flank, while Paddy Wallace and Darren Cave continue their impressive centre partnership.

Fitzpatrick replaces All Black John Afoa at tighthead prop and will join Rory Best and Tom Court in the front row. Lewis Stevenson has replaced the injured Johann Muller in the second row alongside Dan Tuohy. The back row remains unchanged from the one that lined out against Glasgow last week, although Chris Henry will have the added responsibility of captaining the side in Muller’s absence.

The decision has been made not to risk Stephen Ferris (back) despite him training earlier in the week.

Ulster continue to set the pace at the top of the PRO12 table, and still possess a 100% winning record in all competitions this season. The Ulstermen have won five of their last six fixtures with Welsh regions and have been victorious on their two visits to Wales so far this campaign.

However, they have just one victory at Rodney Parade in their last six attempts.

Ulster XV & replacements to face Dragons, RaboDirect PRO12, Friday 26th October, Rodney Parade (7.05pm):
(15-9): T Bowe; A Trimble, D Cave, P Wallace, C Gilroy; R Pienaar, P Marshall;
(1-8): T Court, R Best, D Fitzpatrick, L Stevenson, D Tuohy, I Henderson, C Henry (capt), N Williams;
Replacements (16-23): N Brady, C Black, J Afoa, M McComish, R Wilson, P Jackson, L Marshall, J Payne.

Similar Posts