RUGBY LEAGUE – Strangford Sharks 34 Vs Ballynahinch Rabbitohs 40

2 minutes, 26 seconds Read

Rugby League ss Back, and bigger than ever with the new Fermanagh Redskins joining the league for there first season. They join the Portadown Pumas, East Belfast Bulldogs, Strangford Sharks and the Ballynahinch Bulls (now Rabbitohs).

Last season East Belfast won the 9’s and Ballynahinch won the grand final. This season Fermanagh Redskins have joined the league and have gone really well, putting big scores on both Portadown Pumas and East Belfast Bulldogs in between a heavy defeat to the Rabbitohs.

Each weekend the four teams play each other in a league system, culminating at the end of the summer in a spectacular end of season finale! InTouch will be there this year to report in words and pictures.

This weekend was the turn of Strangford Sharks v Ballynahinch Rabbitohs. A thrilling high scoring encounter, coming down to the wire with the Rabbitohs just edging victory!

Pictures From Strangford Sharks v Ballynahinch Rabittohs Click Here

Team News:

Ballynahinch Rabbitohs

Formed by Tim Morton, based at Ballynahinch RFC and playing in the same kit as the South Sydney Rabbitohs, the NRL club owned by Russell Crowe, who gave permission to use their colours and logo.
The squad includes a few guys who played in the historic grand slam Hinch season last year along with a few guys who play at Quins.

Strangford Sharks

Set up by former league international Gav Gordon, they play at Donaghadee RFC and pull players in from Dee, Ards and Bangor RFC.
Their kit is all black.

Portadown Pumas

The longest running club out of them all, Portadown used to play in the old All Ireland competition.

Former Ireland A (league) international Wayne Kelly runs them and plays for them, they play at Chambers Park and draw guys in from Portadown, Armagh and Banbridge.
They play in the same kit as the union club, royal blue.

East Belfast Bulldogs

These guys are primarily a CIYMS team with a couple of Malone and Ballymena guys thrown in.

Run by Andrew Heasley and Michael Chambers who are two guys with a passion in RL they have got quite a good we side and were beaten finalists in the Grand Final last season and also at this years 9’s.

They play in red, black and white hooped shirts, white shorts and red socks.

Fermanagh Redskins

Run by a guy called Robert Watson who is also now a qualified Rugby League referee, this is Fermanagh’s first season and they have been going well apart from their heavy defeat to Ballynahinch, putting big scores on both Portadown and maybe somewhat surprisingly East Belfast last weekend.

Based at Enniskillen RFC, they wear the same kit as the union club at the moment.

Rabbitohs Teamlist
1 Richard Reaney 2 Mark McCormick 1 try 3 Jonny Cullen 3 tries
4 Graham Taylor 5 Nicholas McCavery 1 try 6 Ryan Bambry 1 try, 1 con
7 Harry McAleese 2 tries, 3 cons 8 Tim Morton (capt) 9 Rob Logan
10 Aaron Seawright 11 Tom Frazer 12 Owen Murray 13 John Gunson
14 Ale Aletese

Similar Posts