Powerade Towns Cup Quarter Finals Sat 22nd Feb 2014 by George Millar LIVE HERE \!/

3 minutes, 24 seconds Read

Powerade Towns Cup Quarter Finals

Four evenly matched games in the quarter finals of the Towns Cup this weekend. Clogher Valley would have to be the favourites this year, having appeared in five finals since 2006. They last won the trophy in 2012 and 2011. Other quarter finalists including Coleraine, Ballymena seconds, Ballymoney, Ballynahinch seconds, Bangor and Omagh are previous winners. Donaghadee are the only side in the quarter finals who have yet to win the Towns Cup.
Coleraine v Clogher Valley
This is the first of two visits by the Fivemiletown side to play the North Coast team, with an important league game the following weekend. Clogher Valley would be firm favourites to win this Cup tie. Coleraine were Junior Cup semi finalists this season and have the playing squad to upset the form book this weekend. Coach Richard Beggs will be hoping for a Cup double with his CIA school team playing in the Schools Cup quarter final on Sat morning. Coleraine last won the Towns Cup in 2006 when they defeated CV 26-22 in the final. They are coming of the back off a five game winning run in the league and Cup.  Can Coleraine cause an upset. Expect a big local crowd to get behind their team. Clogher Valley to win
Ballymena seconds v Ballymoney
With Ballymena firsts involved in a USL league decider at Ballynahinch this game presents the Kilraughts side with the opportunity to make it through to the semi finals. Ballymena seconds have already recorded a Conference league 21-15 win over Ballymoney in October. After a diffcult spell before Xmas, Ballymoney have strung together a four match unbeaten run. Back row forward Jonny Hanna was the stand out player in their 27-0 win over UUC last Sat, scoring three tries. You can expect coaches Jason Taggart and Neil Beddow to have their players up for this County Antrim derby.Ballymoney last won the Cup in 2010, when they defeated CV 15-14. Ballymena seconds last won the Cup in 2005. They were finalists in 2012 losing to CV 11-0.  Ballymoney to win
Ballynahinch seconds v Bangor
Junior Cup holders Ballynahinch seconds remain undefeated this season in all competitions. Can Bangor Captain Jamie Clegg inspire his young team to an unexpected victory. His battle with opposing Captain Josh Donaldson in the back row will be one of the contests to watch. Bangor play maker Jason Morgan has a key role in keeping his side in this game.  Bangor will travel with no fear and are capable of pushing Hinch all the way. Ballynahinch last won the Cup in 1995. They have lost three finals since 2000. Bangor last won the trophy in 1975. Ballynahinch to win

Donaghadee v Omagh
The inclement weather has restricted the North Down side to playing only three league and Cup games in 2014. Will this limited game time be a disadvantage for the Donaldson Park side.  Omagh are sitting second in Qualifying Two behind league leaders Ballyclare with an outside chance of promotion this season. They are undefeated in their last eight league and Cup games since the beginning of December. They pose a real threat to the Cup ambitions of the Dee side. Donaghadee disposed of Omagh’s neighbours Enniskillen 34-12 in the previous round.  Much will depend on the form of forwards Chris Good, Gareth Gordon, Ali Barnes, Chris Hamilton and David Murray.  Player coach Paul McKenzie will face a late fitness test. In backs Alastair Lockhart, Nigel Barker and Rory Garnham,  the Dee side have the players to win this game. Omagh coach Phil Marshall has developed a well organised side who swept aside Dungannon seconds in the previous round. In their last league outing two weeks ago they defeated Lisburn 48 – 0.  They have talent throughout their backline with their threequarters of Andy McFarland, Alistair Beckett and David Ward regular points scorers. Their forward unit is solid with Ulster Junior Mark Smyth and the ever present Mervyn Edgar strong ball carriers. Very close game to call. Omagh last won the Cup in 2002 when defeated Ballynahinch seconds 32-26. Donaghadee have been finalists but have never won the Towns Cup. Omagh to win

Similar Posts