Nutty Krust U18 Tournament 2017 Teams/Schedule

Nutty Krust U18 Tournament 2017 Teams/Schedule

   Nutty Krust U18 Tournament 2017

The 38th Nutty Krust Rugby Tournament was launched in Portadown Rugby Club on Tuesday 10th January. This season has seen ten teams enter and the organisers have decided to schedule the opening series of game on a round robin basis after a single qualifying match. The losing team in the preliminary round will be offered another floodlit fixture. This will ensure each team will play at least two games in the course of the tournament.

Preliminary Match   Portadown V Malone

       Group A        Group B         Group C
1/ Dungannon 1/ Banbridge 1/ Omagh
2/ Ballymena 2/ Rainey 2/ Enniskillen
3/ Winner of Preliminary       Match 3/ Ballynahinch 3/ Armagh

Match Schedule as follows:

Preliminary Match 25th January   Portadown    v


1st February

8th February

15th February

Dungannon   v

Banbridge   v

Omagh        v




22nd February

1st March

8th March

Ballymena   v

Rainey        v

Enniskillen   v

Winner of prelim match



15th March

22nd March

29th March

Dungannon  v

Banbridge  v

Omagh       v

Winner of prelim match



Semi Finals

(To be drawn after 29th March)

11th + 12th April



26th April

The winners of each group, plus the highest placed group runner-up will qualify for the semi-finals. A fresh draw for the semi-finals will be made when all qualifying teams are known.

U18 rugby stars to battle it out in 38th Nutty Krust Rugby tournament

The best of Northern Ireland’s U18 rugby players are set to square off at the 38th annual Nutty Krust Rugby Floodlit Tournament.

Players from ten teams across Northern Ireland will take part in the tournament, which kicks off with a preliminary match between home team Portadown and Malone at 7.45pm, 25th January 2017 at Chambers Park, home of Portadown rugby.

This year’s tournament will follow a round robin format, which ensures each team plays at least two games throughout the competition. The winner of each of the three groups and the highest-placed group runner-up will move on to the semi-finals. Group winners will be decided by a points system, with four points for a match win, two points for a draw, a bonus point for scoring four or more tries, or a bonus point for losing by seven points or fewer. A semi-final draw will take place post 29th March with the final played on 26th April.

Northern Ireland’s leading bakery Irwin’s will return as title sponsor for the 38th consecutive year. Brian Irwin, Chairman, Irwin’s Bakery, said he is looking forward to another exciting competition,

“The Nutty Krust Rugby Tournament is very much an annual highlight in our calendar and it showcases some of Northern Ireland’s best young talent. As a family-owned business that has been baking bread for more than 100 years, we are committed to supporting grassroots sports not only in Portadown but across Northern Ireland – encouraging young people to live a balanced, active lifestyle.

“I would like to thank the organisers and officials who make the tournament possible. Each match starts at 7.45pm on Wednesdays at Chambers Park and we encourage everyone to come out and enjoy the competition!”

Pictured at the draw for the 2017 Nutty Krust Rugby Floodlit Tournament are tournament organisers from left Mark Crozier, Brian Hannah, John McKibbin, President, Ulster Branch IRFU, Brian Irwin, Chairman, Irwin’s Bakery (sponsor), Barney McGonigle and Johnny Rankin.