New Zealand claim prize in Canada and take a step closer to Rio

1 minute, 51 seconds Read

New Zealand claimed the fourth round of the World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series in Canada after defeating Russia in the Cup final on Sunday, 29-10.
Playing in their first women’s series final, Russia were brave but easily defeated as prolific scorers Kayla McAlister and Portia Woodman put them to the sword at Westhills Stadium, the home of Rugby Canada.

It now means New Zealand are well on the way to securing their place at the Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro next year, with mathematical confirmation highly likely at the next round in London.


Speaking after the final whistle, New Zealand coach Sean Horan said: “It was a tough week for our girls as we lost one early to injury, but I’m really proud of them as always.”

Paying tribute to hosts Rugby Canada, he added: “The tournament this weekend was simply outstanding. The support, the togetherness, the focus on players and management, the facilities and the passion…. it was just outstanding.”

WATCH: Fijiana show incredible skills to score at #Canada7s
[youtube pwRqUL82JAY]

With qualification for the Olympic Games in Rio 2016 on offer for the top four teams at the end of the series in May, competition for places is becoming more intense. Check out the current series standings here.

Earlier in the day, USA beat hosts Canada to win the Plate final, with Spain beating Brazil to lift the Bowl in Langford.

World Rugby Chairman Bernard Lapasset said: “This weekend was a great advertisement for our sport and my congratulations go to New Zealand, who have made it four out of four so far this series, and have all but cemented their place at the Olympic Games next year. The stage is now set for two more great tournaments in London and Amsterdam next month.

“Rugby Canada and the tournament organisers deserve equal praise, as it was a fantastic event in Langford, with passionate crowds and excellent rugby on display.”


The series now moves to Europe for back-to-back tournaments in London (15-16 May) and then Amsterdam where the series champions will be crowned on 23-24 May.

Similar Posts