Nevin Spence named Ulster Rugby Personality of the Year at Heineken Ulster Rugby Awards Dinner 2012/13

3 minutes, 4 seconds Read

Ulster Rugby player, Nevin Spence, who was tragically killed in a farming accident on 15th September 2012, has been named Ulster Rugby Personality of the Year at the club’s annual awards.

Spence, who was a hugely talented and much loved member of the Ulster rugby team, died along with his brother Graham and his father Noel.

He represented the Province 42 times and was destined for great things. There is little doubt that he would have gone on to play for the Ireland senior team.

The award citation said: ‘Nevin’s presence has been with the Ulster Rugby team throughout this season. Although he is no longer here in person, his spirit continues to inspire and motivate each and every member of the squad.’

Ulster winger, Andrew Trimble, was named Bank of Ireland Player of the Year and the Ulster Rugby Supporters Club’s Outstanding Player of the Season. Trimble has had one of his best seasons in an Ulster jersey. He has scored 12 tries, a personal record for the winger for one campaign and won his 150th cap for the Province against Glasgow.

Iain Henderson, was named BT Young Player of the Year. Henderson has proved himself to be one of the most dynamic forwards in the RaboDirect PRO12. He won his first cap for Ireland in the Autumn International series and has played a key role in Ulster’s success.

Robbie Diack won the Belfast Telegraph Award for the Most Improved Ulster Player this Season. Competition for places in the Ulster backrow this season has been high, but in recent months, Diack has been one of the first names on the starting XV. He scored vital tries against Scarlets, Zebre, Leinster and Cardiff and won his 100th cap against Cardiff.

Stuart Olding was named Hughes Insurance Ulster Rugby Academy Player of the Year. Just 20 years old, it has been a remarkable few months for the ex-BRA pupil. He made his first senior start for his Province in February against Ospreys and has gone on to play ten more times, scoring four tries and winning two man-of-the-match awards.

In other awards, Ballynahinch RFC was named Kukri Sports, Club of the Year for a season that has seen the County Down club win Ulster Bank All Ireland League 1b and the Ulster Senior League.

Ashleigh Baxter won the inaugural Women’s Player of Year. The Harlequins player was a member of the historic Ireland team that won a Grand Slam. She is also a member of the Sevens team bidding to make the Olympics in 2016.

Ballynahinch centre, Stuart Morrow, won the Ken Goodall Award for Outstanding Club Player of the Year. As well as his play with Ballynahinch, he was selected for the second year in a row for the Irish club side. He scored a dynamic intercept try in the game against England at Templehill.

Ross Workman was awarded the Dorrington B Faulkner Award for services to rugby, sponsored by Perennials RFC. He was described as a man ‘who has truly given a lifetime of service to the sport of Rugby Football and to the Ulster Branch in particular.’

Campbell College winger, Jack Owens was selected as the Danske Bank Schools’ Player of the Year. Jack was the stand-out school boy of the year. His tries in the final helped his school win the Subsidiary Shield and he was rewarded with a place on the right wing in the Ireland Under 18s School team.

Luke Lewis was named Ulster Youth Player of the Year Award. Lewis is a great ball-carrying prop forward with tremendous power and strength. He can play on either side of the scrum and was a valuable asset to Ballynahinch this season.

Similar Posts