Match Officials Announced for Women’s Rugby World Cup

1 minute, 52 seconds Read
Match Officials Announced for Women’s Rugby World Cup 

The International Rugby Board has announced the names of the eight referees and six assistant referees who will officiate at Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014, which takes place in France during August.

New Zealand will provide two of the referees in the form of Jess Beard and Nicky Inwood while there will be one each from USA, England, South Africa, Ireland, Australia and Canada.

In addition, England will provide two assistant referees with the others coming from Italy, France, Scotland and Spain.

The full list of referees is: Jess Beard (New Zealand), Leah Berard (USA), Claire Hodnett (England), Nicky Inwood (New Zealand), Marlize Jordaan (South Africa), Helen O’Reilly (Ireland), Amy Perrett (Australia), Sherry Trumbull (Canada).

The full list of assistant referees is: Beatrice Benvenuti (Italy), Sara Cox (England), Clare Daniels (England), Marie Lematte (France), Alhambra Nievas (Spain), Alex Pratt (Scotland).

The tournament runs from August 1-17, with the pool stages being played at the FFR headquarters in Marcoussis, near Paris, and the final stages to be held at Stade Jean Bouin, the home of Stade Francais.

Referee preparation for the WRWC 2014 has been intense this year with the elite officials meeting for a three-day camp in Marcoussis prior to the Six Nations, a tournament that was followed up by another training camp in Berlin.

Chairman of the IRB Women’s Match Official Selection Committee John Jeffrey said: “These referees and assistant referees have proven themselves to be the top match officials in the women’s Game and fully deserve their appointment to what is women’s Rugby’s pinnacle tournament.”

“It is a great achievement for each of them to have been selected and it is a testament to their hard work and dedication. I would like to congratulate them and wish them all the best for the tournament in August.”

Notes to editors:

The IRB Women’s Match Official Selection Committee is chaired by John Jeffrey and comprises Kat Todd (USA Rugby), Michel Lamoulie (FFR), Wayne Erickson (ARU), Bernd Gabbei (IRB) and IRB High Performance Match Officials Manager Joël Jutge.

Tickets for Women’s Rugby World Cup 2014, which are priced from as low as just €5, are now available to fans by clicking here.

Similar Posts