Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad named to play in Women’s Sevens Dublin

1 minute, 42 seconds Read

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad named to play in Women’s Sevens Dublin

The Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad to play in the Women’s Sevens Dublin Tournament has been named.

Ireland will share pool C with South Africa, Hong Kong and Mexico.

The tournament takes place in the UCD Bowl on Saturday 22nd and Sunday 23rd of August. 12 Teams from across the globe will descend on Dublin to take part in the tournament which will see the top two finishers qualify for the 2015-16 World Rugby Women’s Sevens Series.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Anthony Eddy, IRFU Director of Rugby Sevens said, “It’s massively important to get on to the world series circuit, it’s our number one goal, that way we are playing against the best teams in the world. If we are going to have a shot at the world Olympic repechage we are going to have to play at the best level.”

“In our pool we face South Africa who are a team that have been on the world circuit for a couple of years now are one of the teams that have been relegated from last season. They will be desperate to perform at this event and get back on the series circuit. We are definitely up for the challenge and it’s great to have the tournament at home.”

“With 12 countries competing in this event from all over the world, this is a great opportunity to give the game more exposure in Ireland.”

Tickets for the tournament start at 5 euro, with children free, and are available from

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad (Women’s Sevens Dublin – UCD Bowl, Dublin. August 22nd- 23rd)
Audrey O’Flynn (TID)
Jenny Murphy (Old Belvedere)
Stacey Flood (Railway Union)
Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere)
Amee-Leigh Crowe (Clanwilliam)
Ashleigh Baxter (Belfast Harlequins)
Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock)
Claire Keohane (UL Bohemians)
Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum) Capt
Claire Molloy (Bristol)
Louise Galvin (UL Bohemians)
Alison Miller (Portlaoise)

Ireland Women’s Sevens Fixtures (All times are Local)
Saturday 22nd August
12.50 Ireland v Mexico
15.22 Ireland v Hong Kong
18.28 South Africa v Ireland

Sunday 23rd August
Play Offs

Similar Posts