Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad Named For European Championship Nikki Caughey is in

1 minute, 17 seconds Read

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad Named For European Championship

The Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad for the FIRA/AER European Women’s Championship in Russia has been named.

Ireland are placed in pool B along with England, Portugal and Belgium. They play their pool games on Saturday 7th June in Moscow, with the placement games taking place on Sunday 8th June.

Speaking ahead of the tournament, Coach Jon Skurr said “The preparation for the Europeans has been good. We have made a few changes from Amsterdam with Nicole Cronin and Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe returning to the squad”

“The girls’ skills are improving week on week. That said it is time for us to push on and start to deliver consistent performances”

“We go into this tournament knowing that we have to finish in the top two, excluding the three core teams, Russia, Spain and England, to advance to the Women’s Sevens World Series requalification event in September.”

Ireland Women’s Sevens Squad (FIRA/AER European Women’s 7s, Moscow, Russia, 7th- 8th June)
1 – Shannon Houston (Blackrock/ Leinster) (Capt.)
2- Martina McCarthy (Talent ID Programme)
3 – Elaine Ryan (Talent ID Programme)
4- Nicole Cronin (Shannon/Munster)
5 – Claire Keohane (UL Bohs/Munster)
6 – Hannah Tyrell (Old Belvedere/Leinster)
7 – Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Clanwilliam RFC/Munster)
8 – Katie Fitzhenry (Blackrock/ Leinster)
9 – Nikki Caughey (Belfast Harlequins/ Ulster)
10 – Siobhan Barrett (Tralee/ Munster)
11 – Laura Lee Walsh (Talent ID Programme)
12 – Susan Vaughan (Railway Union/ Leinster)


11.28 Ireland v Portugal
14.28 Ireland v Belgium
17.28 England v Ireland

Similar Posts