Ireland Rugby Under-20 team to play South Africa Rugby Under-20 : Junior Rugby World Cup: 4 Ulster Players Named Of 8 In The Panel!

1 minute, 34 seconds Read

The Ireland Under-20 team (sponsored by PwC) to face South Africa in the Junior World Championship has been named.

This match forms part of the 5th – 8th place play-off at the championship with the final placing to be decided by the last game on Sunday the 26th June.

Under-20’s coach Mike Ruddock has made just one change to the side that won against Scotland in their final pool game of the tournament with David Doyle starting in the back row.

Finlay Bealham and Alex Kelly have been named among the replacements.

Speaking ahead of the game, Ruddock said “It’s not that often that you get the opportunity to benchmark yourselves against the might of South Africa at this age grade and so having a second chance within eight days is rather unique”.

“It is up to my players to put into practice the lessons learnt last time out. If we do that then we will improve our performance. If we improve on our last performance then we will be in the game big time.”

Ireland Under-20 v South Africa Under-20 (IRB Junior World Championship, Stadio Plebiscito, Padova, Saturday, June 22, kick-off 8.10pm local time/7.10pm Irish time):
15 – Tiernan O’Halloran (Galwegians/Connacht)
14 – Andrew Conway (Blackrock/Leinster)
13 – Brendan Macken (Blackrock/Leinster)
12 – Luke Marshall (Ballymena/Ulster)
11 – Andrew Boyle (UCD/Leinster)
10 – Paddy Jackson (Dungannon/Ulster)
9 – Kieran Marmion (UWIC/Exile)
1 – James Tracy (UCD/Leinster)
2 – Niall Annett (Belfast Harlequins/Ulster) (capt)
3 – Tadhg Furlong (Clontarf/Leinster)
4 – Michael Kearney (Clontarf/Leinster)
5 – Iain Henderson (Queen’s University/Ulster) Daniel
6 – Eoin McKeon (Galwegians/Connacht)

7 – David Doyle (UCD/Leinster)
8 – Jordi Murphy (Lansdowne/Leinster)

16 – Finlay Bealham (Belfast Harlequins – Ulster)
17 – Conor Carey (Ballymena/Ulster)
18 – Daniel Qualter (Buccaneers/Connacht)
19 – Shane Buckley (Garryowen/Munster)
20 – Peter du Toit (UCD/Leinster)
21 – James McKinney (Queen’s University/Ulster)
22 – Alex Kelly (UCD – Leinster)

Similar Posts