Extended Ulster Rugby Squad Announced

1 minute, 42 seconds Read

Brian McLaughlin has named an extended 35 man squad as Ulster prepare for Friday’s RaboDirect PRO12 game against Edinburgh at Murrayfield (kick off 7.30pm).

Stephen Ferris, Rory Best, Tom Court and Andrew Trimble all return to the squad, having missed the win over Munster at the weekend because of their involvement in an Ireland training camp. Fellow Irish International Paddy Wallace has recovered from tendon damage to his thumb and is fit enough to be named in the provisional squad. Young outhalf Paddy Jackson has also returned from injury and is in contention for a place in the match day squad.

Prop Paddy McAllister and fullback Peter Nelson picked up injuries in the Munster match and are ruled out. They join Jared Payne, Nevin Spence, Declan Fitzpatrick and Mike McComish on the sidelines.

Edinburgh have won just one of their last four games in the RaboDirect PRO12; 50-10 at home to Aironi on 2nd December. The Scots have shown good form at Murrayfield over the past few months, losing only one of their last seven encounters in all competitions. That was a 28-36 defeat to table-topping Leinster on 28th October.

Ulster have lost only one of their last five matches in all competitions, that came at the RDS on the 26th December with a 13-42 loss to Leinster. Edinburgh’s solo victory in their last four encounters with Ulster came in their last meeting, on 22nd October 2010 at Murrayfield.

Provisional Ulster Squad to play Edinburgh, Fri 6th January, Murrayfield (kick-off 7.30pm):

Callum Black, Tom Court, Adam Macklin, John Afoa, Jerry Cronin, Andi Kyriacou, Nigel Brady, Rory Best, Lewis Stevenson, Johann Muller (captain), Dan Tuohy, Tim Barker, Neil McComb, Stephen Ferris, Pedrie Wannenburg, Willie Faloon, Ali Birch, Chris Henry, Robbie Diack

Paul Marshall, Ruan Pienaar, Ian Porter, Ian Humphreys, Paddy Jackson, James McKinney, Paddy Wallace, Ian Whitten, Darren Cave, Stefan Terblanche, Craig Gilroy, Simon Danielli, Chris Cochrane, Conor Gaston, Andrew Trimble, Adam D’Arcy

Unavailable due to injury:
Declan Fitzpatrick, Jared Payne, Nevin Spence, Paddy McAllister, Michael McComish, Peter Nelson

Similar Posts